BOCA RATON, FL (BocaNewsNow.com) — It is now a law. It is illegal to text and drive in Florida.
Despite the hopes of some, your fingers won’t be immediately cut off, but you will receive a ticket. The first offense is $30, anything after that is $60. It is unclear what happens to “habitual” texters as the law the still young and may undergo many revisions in the years to come.
If you believe the law is unfair, note that you can only be cited if you are stopped for something else — so if you’re texting and doing nothing else wrong, you likely have little to worry about. But if you’re texting while applying makeup, brushing your dog’s hair, admiring your latest Lulu Lemon spandex on the way to the gym while your nanny watches your child, all while speeding through a four-way intersection on Yamato Road right in front of a cop, you’ll likely experience the law up close and personal.
BocaNewsNow.com will effort to publish the names of those who are cited for texting-while-driving in the weeks to come.
Content copyright © 2021 Metro Desk Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. We vigorously protect our intellectual property and journalistic product. Broadcast stations must credit BocaNewsNow.com on air. Print must refer to BocaNewsNow.com. Online must link to BocaNewsNow.com. We have agreements with several organizations. Contact news (at) bocanewsnow.com.
The Latest From BocaNewsNow.com
- FLORIDA: COVID ER Visits Rising, Local ICU Count Up, Positivity Slightly Down
- Leaders Of “Extreme Jewish Sect” Charged With Child Exploitation
- SAFETY ALERT: Aptive Pest Control Allegedly Trespassing In Area Communities
- Former Boca Raton Chief Dan Alexander Named Chief Of Palm Beach County School Police
- DEVELOPING: Palm Beach Schools Distance Learning System Failing
- Burt and Max’s Delray Beach Cited For Mold, Insects
- COVID SPREAD SPEEDS: Florida Positivity Jumps To Highest In Month
- COVID PROBLEMS FLORIDA: Hospitalizations Surging Again
- Staten Island Woman Jailed In Delray Beach