BOCA RATON, FL (BocaNewsNow.com) — School starts Monday in Palm Beach County which means a return of flashing yellow lights and the police who are often ready to write tickets to drivers who think the rules don't apply to them.
A reminder: speeding in a school zone automatically doubles whatever fine you would normally receive for speeding.
As a public service, here's what you can expect to pay based on how fast you're driving in a school zone when you get stopped. Also expect 3 or 4 points on your license:
1-9 mph over the limit: $156.00
10-14 mph over the limit: $306.00
15-19 mph over the limit: $406.00
20-29 mph over the limit: $456.00
30+ mph over the limit: $610.00
Passing a school bus while its loading or unloading kids is also a 4-point offense and very expensive.
Content copyright © 2021 Metro Desk Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. We vigorously protect our intellectual property and journalistic product. Broadcast stations must credit BocaNewsNow.com on air. Print must refer to BocaNewsNow.com. Online must link to BocaNewsNow.com. We have agreements with several organizations. Contact news (at) bocanewsnow.com.
The Latest From BocaNewsNow.com
- Delray Beach Police Officer Arrested
- IT’S ALIVE: Hurricane Hunter Finds Circulation In System Near Florida
- Lotus Boca Raton Homeowner Sued For Spreading Rumors About Neighbor
- Palm Beach County COVID Hospitalizations Jump
- FLORIDA: Tropical Depression Now Likely To Form
- DeSantis Again Declares Victory Over CDC Cruise Restrictions
- HURRICANE CENTER: Tropical Depression Likely To Form Within Days Near Florida
- Boca Raton Woman Drives Without Tire, FaceTimes During DUI Stop
- Fort Lauderdale Airport Again At Capacity, Off-Site Parking Opens