FAU Honors Arthur Evans


Pictured left to right: 2017 Florida Atlantic University Alumni Hall of Fame inductee Arthur C. Evans Jr., Ph.D., chief executive officer of the American Psychological Association, and FAU President John Kelly. (Source: FAU)

BOCA RATON, FL (BocaNewsNow.com) (Source: FAU) — The Florida Atlantic University Alumni Association (FAUAA) hosted its Hall of Fame and Distinguished Alumni ceremony and reception last night. The event brought together alumni to celebrate the accomplishments of their most outstanding peers. Alumni from eight of FAU’s colleges were honored for their career accomplishments, and Arthur C. Evans Jr., Ph.D., B.S. ’82, M.A. ’84, was introduced as the 2017 inductee into the FAUAA Hall of Fame.
“It’s my distinct pleasure to honor these outstanding individuals for all that they’ve accomplished since graduating from FAU,” said FAU President John Kelly.
Evans is the chief executive officer of the American Psychological Association (APA). As CEO, Evans heads the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 115,700 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members. Prior to his role at the APA, he completed 12 years as Commissioner of Philadelphia’s Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Service (DBHIDS). He holds a faculty appointment at the University of Pennsylvania’s Perelman School of Medicine and has held a faculty appointment at the Yale University School of Medicine. Evans has been recognized nationally for his work in behavioral healthcare policy and the transformation of service delivery systems. In 2015, the White House recognized Evans as an “Advocate for Action” by the Office of National Drug Control Policy.
“My experience as an undergraduate student at FAU was life changing,” said Evans. “The education that I received prepared me well for my life’s work, which has included, among other opportunities, leading a $1.2 billion public healthcare agency, faculty appointments at two Ivy League institutions, and serving as the CEO for my discipline’s professional organization, the American Psychological Association. I will forever be indebted to FAU and am deeply honored by this alumni award.”
Representing eight of FAU’s colleges are the following distinguished alumni:
Anthony W. Anderson, B.A. ’79, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters – Since 2000, Anderson has served as chairman of the Anderson Family Foundation, a philanthropic organization serving the people of Martin County through advocacy and financial assistance.
Brett Gavagni, M.B.A. ’08, College of Business – Brett Gavagni has developed innovative technology at IBM for more than 18 years and is currently a lead Watson Health cloud engineer. He is a senior enterprise software architect and engineer with experience designing and developing highly scalable business solutions for Fortune 500 companies.
Danielle N. Hartman, M.N.M. ’10, College for Design and Social Inquiry – Danielle N. Hartman became president and CEO of Ruth & Norman Rales Jewish Family Services (JFS) in March 2010. Hartman sits on the board of directors of the National Association of Jewish Human Service Agencies.
Gay Sherman Voss, E.D.S. ’72, E.D.D. ’77, College of Education – Gay S. Voss served 52 years as an educator in Florida. She was principal at Rolling Green Elementary in Boynton Beach for 24 years. She served two terms as president of the Boynton Beach Rotary Club.
Ravi M. Krishamurthy, Ph.D., M.S.E. ’86, College of Engineering and Computer Science – For the last 14 years, Krishamurthy has been a principal and executive board member at Blade Energy Partners, serving as president from 2005 to 2008. Blade Energy Partners tackles upstream and pipeline technical challenges by integrating skills in mechanics, metallurgy, chemistry, electrochemistry and fracture mechanics, with core knowledge in drilling, completions and infrastructure.
Noemi Coltea, B.A. ’05, M.P.A. ’09, Ph.D. ’14, Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College – Noemi Coltea is actively involved in her community through her role as development director for Boys Town of South Florida, the president elect of the Junior Leagues of the Palm Beaches, SunFest, Connect Florida Statewide Board and most recently, FAU’s Graduate and Professional Student Association Executive Board.
Rocky D. Hosie, Lt. Col., USAF, NC, M.S.N./M.B.A. ’07, Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing – Lt. Col. Rocky Hosie is a special needs coordinator for the 673d Medical Group, Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska. Under his leadership, his team determines the resources that are available for both inbound and outbound military personnel for special medical, mental or teaching needs.

  1. Phillip DeYoung, Ph.D. ’03, Charles E. Schmidt College of Science – DeYoung is a scientific leader in the Immuno-Oncology and Combinations Discovery Performance Unit at GlaxoSmithKline (GSK). In more than nine years at GSK, DeYoung has been involved and has led multiple drug discovery efforts, which have progressed into early clinical studies.


Content copyright © 2022 Metro Desk Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. BocaNewsNow.com ® is a registered trademark. BocaRudeton™ is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. Sirens™ is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. “You hear sirens, we know where they went,”™ is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. “Don’t Want To Be Seen Here? Don’t Be Rude Here!™” is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. We vigorously protect our intellectual property and journalistic product. Broadcast stations must credit BocaNewsNow.com on air. Print must refer to BocaNewsNow.com. Online must link to BocaNewsNow.com. We have agreements with several organizations. Contact news (at) bocanewsnow.com. Call 866-4-FL-NEWS. Arrest reports are police accusations. Guilt or innocence is determined in a court of law. 

News. Free. As It Happens. Subscribe To Our Updates.