palm beach county school district

PALM BEACH SCHOOLS: COVID Positive Children Must Miss First Days

Boca Raton Boynton Beach Broward County Coronavirus COVID-19 Delray Beach Facial Coverings Florida News Palm Beach County Palm Beach County Schools Schools

Palm Beach County School District Ten Day Quarantine Required. If Positive Now, Child Must Miss First Days.

There Is A Record: Florida Department of Health Logs All Positive Tests In State.

palm beach county school district
Children, teachers and staffers testing positive for COVID-19 must be quarantined for ten days before entering Palm Beach County School District buildings.

BY: ANDREW COLTON | Editor and Publisher

UPDATE 3:39 p.m. Wednesday, August 4th: School Spokeswoman Claudia Shea tells that the official who told us the Palm Beach County School District would consider civil action against a parent who knowing sends their child to school with COVID-19 is incorrect.

BOCA RATON, FL ( (Copyright © 2021 MetroDesk Media, LLC) — If your child is currently positive with COVID-19, or tests positive over the next few days, they will not be permitted to attend the first days of school In Palm Beach County next week.

The Palm Beach County School District tells that the ten day quarantine requirement remains in effect. Any student, teacher or staffer testing positive may not enter a school building. Instead, they are to stay home and quarantine.

School starts August 10th.

Random COVID-19 tests may be conducted for children whose parents have signed permission slips for tests. If parents know their child is sick and send them to school, the possibility of civil action exists, according to one school district source. The Florida Department of Health is notified of all positive tests recorded in the state. A record exists of anyone in Florida who has tested positive, if that test was conducted by a medical provider, or processed by an official lab such as Quest or Labcorp.

”For students who test positive,” said Palm Beach County School District Spokesperson Claudia Shea, “it is the responsibility of the parent to notify the school within 24 hours of the positive test. The child has to quarantine for ten days.”

Shea said the child may not return to school until benchmarks are reached.

“After the ten days,” said Shea, “the child has to be without a fever or symptoms for at least 24 hours before returning to school.”

Shea said the absence will be excused.

The reminder from the Palm Beach County School District comes as area summer camps and programs report COVID-19 cases that mirror the greater Palm Beach County region. The CDC says Palm Beach County’s positivity rate remains just shy of 20 percent.



Content copyright © 2023 Metro Desk Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ® is a registered trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. For our intellectual property, terms, and conditions, read hereBroadcast stations must credit on air. Print must refer to Online must link to Contact news (at) Call 561-576-NEWS (6397). Arrest reports are police accusations. Guilt or innocence is determined in a court of law.