School Starts Today In Palm Beach County, Police Ticketing

Boca Raton Boynton Beach Delray Beach Florida News Palm Beach County Palm Beach County Schools Schools

Here’s How Much You’ll Pay If You Are Stopped In A School Zone.


Fine schedule for school-related motor vehicle violations in Florida.

BOCA RATON, FL ( (Copyright © 2022 MetroDesk Media, LLC) — It is the first day of school for public school students in Palm Beach County, and police are out in force ticketing motorists. The targets: those who forget to slow down in school zones, drivers using cell phone in school zones, and those who let their kids out of the car in non-designated locations.

The Florida school zone speeding ticket matrix is simple: $50 for speeding 1-9 miles per hour over the limit; $200 for 10-14 miles per hour over the limit, and $350 for anything higher. There are certain situations where your license could be suspended. There are no warnings for Florida school zone speeders. If you’re stopped, you’re going to end up paying.

If you think you’re smart and saving time by letting your child out of the car in a non-designated location, expect a $116 fine. Same thing if you stop or park on a cross walk.

And using your hand held phone anywhere near a school zone is an easy way to be ticketed and ordered to pay $166. You do not need to be stopped for another violation for an officer or deputy to ticket you for phone use.

The listed fines do not include court costs or fees which can often add significant amounts to the face value of a ticket.


Paul Saperstein


Content copyright © 2022 Metro Desk Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ® is a registered trademark. BocaRudeton™ is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. Sirens™ is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. “You hear sirens, we know where they went,”™ is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. “Don’t Want To Be Seen Here? Don’t Be Rude Here!™” is a trademark of MetroDesk Media, LLC. We vigorously protect our intellectual property and journalistic product. Broadcast stations must credit on air. Print must refer to Online must link to We have agreements with several organizations. Contact news (at) Call 866-4-FL-NEWS. Arrest reports are police accusations. Guilt or innocence is determined in a court of law.